To “Lucky ” with love

I was very blue on  Valentine because I did not get any flower. I know, I know, I shouldn’t be upset for those wishy washy thing. But the thing is someone I really like greeted me ” Happy Valentine, love you Hnin ” and he also said ” If I were there, I would give you some flowers”. I wanted to say ” Hello, you don’t need to be here to give me flowers. The floral service can do that for you at any time and yes, it does not even need to be an expensive bouquet. A flower will do . Sigh! So I became sour and started to cry ( I know I shouldn’t ). well, Men…… I hope he will not read this,, usually he only read my blog when I send him the link.

So when he was earnestly talking to me, I ended the conversation because I was upset for not getting the flower. That reminds me of the following quote.

woman quote

If someone asks me why I particularly like the man I mentioned, he is very kind to animals. He genuinely loves animals and will rescue any animals in distress. One time, he called me and we were having good conversation. Then he said ” Hnin, please excuse me, I must go to my neighbour’s house and look into the problems of the cat.”. I said ” which cat?”. He said ” My neighbour’s cat has been crying non stop for past 20 minutes. I think he might be in trouble. His owners are not inside the house.His voice sounds he is in trouble. I want to help him” and then , he disappeared. hahaha. One time, he found out a small dog who was getting lost in the street. The dog was thin and malnourished . So the guy I really like picked up the dog and brought him to the vet. Then he gave him vaccines and named him as ” Chaska” meaning stars. Chaska has been perfectly happy and healthy since he was adopted.

I like guys who are kind to animals and kids because that mean they are genuinely kind. Well, I even think one day, I want to own a farm with lots of animals and vegetable plants. But I never think I am responsible or committed enough to own a pet. I have been always busy, always alone, always outside or always have things to do. If I don’t play the music, I write, I read, I go to beach and I paint to add to the full time job.( I am now writing this article at 2 am and that shows how I love writing) By the way, I remember there is a rehab program for drug addicts and alcoholics regarding relationship. To make good relationship, an ex addict has to buy a plant first, if the plant survive, he can go next step which is owning a pet, then if he is responsible enough to own a pet, he can start relationship. I can say myself as ” FAIL ”  in the beginning itself because I bought the plants and all of them are being taken care by a neighbor now.

But I want to own a pet, because my friend would describe me or introduce me like ” this is Hnin , she is so independent , she has everything, EXCEPT  PET……” Damn ! Seriously, I thought of having lots of pets ranging from ” Guinea pig” to  ” Monkey”, but in the end, I just think of my vacations and I don’t have heart to make my pets as psychos just because they are so lonely and there is nobody who can talk to them. Bear in mind, when they become psychos, they might probably bite everything and anything inside my house. I have even read in the newspaper that nine Dobermans ( which were left by the owner for ten days without food)  ate the owner when he returned back from the trip. In the end, there was only remnants of him ( the head ) in the living room, discovered by the police. Believe me, it could be me if I had 9 dogs. For that reason, I gave up the idea of having a pet.

One week ago, I went to the wet market with Ma Win. We found a few chickens tied in the basket. The owner wanted to sell them as the fresh meat . Basically, if we order any chicken,, they will weigh it and then kill it for us to eat. The most surprising thing is all chickens look healthy but none of them were giving any noise. Usually, I am very much used to hearing the chickens cluck and cackle noisily in the basket. But they were not like any other chicken. May be they fear any chicken who make noise will be killed as priority. We can see similarity in human beings, whoever vocal can be terminated or demoted soon.  Exactly, these chicken were way much smarter than me because I am the one who would voice out for any injustice in the world. Sadly, I could only see despair in their eyes and its like they had already made up their mind to accept their destiny.

Being a curious person, I looked carefully at each and every  chicken. I found out one of them looks much younger than others. She is a young female chicken ( I just found out in the dictionary that she can be called as a pullet which means she is not ready to lay the egg yet). I decided to buy her  because she seemed like she would survive anything in life. I asked my maid whether she is ok to look after the chicken as I don’t want to give any burden to her. TO my surprise, she was very happy . It is because being a busy person, I cannot talk to her all the time. When I come back home, I am usually too exhausted to have human interaction as 90% of my energy being used up at work or with driving. So, having a third party or a pet at home was very promising for her.

I asked the owner whether she can put her in a cardboard box and we brought her back home. I named her “lucky “because that means she is lucky enough to escape from being inside the curry pot. Alternatively, I believe she would bring much luck to our life.

56
Lucky at my house near the cloth liner.

She was limp and weak all the time in the car and as soon as we released her , she started to peck everything in front of her. It was amazing to know she still had so much of energy . Ma Win gave her some rice and she eagerly ate all of them. We had a big issue of where to keep her as I live in a terraced house and I don’t have a big yard . The only place I had is a concrete place in front of my house which is beside my parking place. So we tied one of her legs to a plastic string and allowed her to roam inside the front yard. She was very happy, but quite irritated with the plastic string and she tried to release it with her beak. I found her quite intelligent. We gave her some water and food. The problem was she tried to eat some of my plants and shit everywhere. I never thought a small chicken can shit that amount. Her shit was everywhere. My neighbour was concerned because we also lined our clothes in the same place and Lucky found the cloth liner quite comfy to make her bedroom. She flied there and sat elegantly on the liner.

It was the first day of Chinese New Year and I was invited by my landlord to participate in their celebration. After a few hours, I felt like going back home. It was a good thing that I went back because I found Lucky in critical condition. To make you understand, she was tied with a long string which is ten feet in length. I don’t know what happened before. I saw Lucky with the string attached and she was upside down as if she was hanged. The only thing which saved her was because the string was long enough and her head was touching the ground while one of her leg was in the air tied to the string. The string was wrapped several times around the pole. There was no sound from her. Her eyes were scary as if she was dead. She was immobile. I thought she was dead. The only thing I felt for the first time I saw her in hanging position  was guilt. How did  I let her die like that although I was supposed to save her life? She might even die in a better way in poultry seller’s hand. I called her name repeatedly, stroking her. There was no sound, but she twitched a bit . So I ran inside the house and brought back a scissors and cut the string. She fell down limply. It was dark in my patio and unfortunately, the lights could not switch on at that particular time. So I went back and brought the emergency light near her. I found out she had cerebral concussion. May be she hit her head with the floor and her leg which was tied to the string was severely cramped because it was in an  awkward position for a long time. What I did is I tried to massage her leg and I stroked her head. After a few minutes of massage, she stood up and as usual, pecked the floor. I said ” Oh MY GOd, Lucky, you just recovered and the first thing you want to do is eating”. And I laughed. I was so happy because it was my first resuscitation for the chicken and it was successful.

Later, we had to think how to put her safely without any string attached and at the same time, not polluting our cloth liner and not destroying the plants. My landlord said I can send Lucky to his house as he rears some chicken himself. But later, we found out my landlord’s roasters are quite aggressive and they might kill Lucky. So we finally borrowed my landlord’s cage and we put Lucky inside the cage. The cage was around 2 feet wide and one feet high which is not spacious enough for her. Lucky was frustrated and as usual, she was always in her own shit as the cage was small and we couldn’t clean the cage many times a day. The smell was everywhere and it finally made me decide to release her somewhere.

It was a lengthy decision between me and Ma Win where is the most suitable place for her.  We don’t want to release her into a place where a lot of people can find her and kill her. We don’t want to release her into a deep forest because she is too young and cannot defend herself  from wild animals. We have a lot of monkeys everywhere but I tried to tell Ma Win that most probably monkeys will not harm her. I try to convince myself that wild Boars are also harmless to Lucky as they usually eat only dead fish and insects. ( I relate everything to Pumbaa from Lion King )

pumbaa

We brought her to the forest near the beach because that forest is not so near to beach and also has plenty of grass and young plants to eat. Lucky can also go to beach at night or early morning to find dead fish. She can make friends with birds. The only thing is she will not find her soul mate there ( my bad! I am going to carry this karma to next life for not buying a pair and only one chicken ) as there is no wild chicken in that forest unless she falls in love with doves and they will have beautiful offsprings.

55

5247

51
the beach is opposite the forest
26
flowers at forest
7
forest from far.

There was so much difference when we tried to tie her to keep her in the same box we brought her from the market. When we bought her from the wet market, she was completely quiet. Today, she made a lot of noises most probably out of anxiety. She had a lot of strength and resistance  most probably because of continuous feeding. But I also think she knew anyway she was going to be out of our house. When I drove the car across the hump, she clucked as if she was saying ” hey, slow down, you have a chicken in your car”. I said ” sorry, Lucky”. Then we took her out to the forest.

The forest has lots of plants and beautiful flowers. I can’t imagine how to describe the emotions of Lucky. She was very excited. She vigorously pecked the soil and tried to discover the area she had never been before. I tried to stroke her. Usually she likes to be stroked. You might not believe how much we have tamed her within a few days, even less than a week. She was curious about everything.

40

42
I bet Lucky can eat those young leaves
28
Lucky will peck at everything and anything, she swallows everything, quite dangerous

 

The hardest part is she tried to follow us everywhere we go. At first we went south, she followed us, giving a lot of sounds like ” hey, women, don’t leave me alone”. When we went north, she also followed us. It was like we were playing hide and seek with Lucky.

25
I will follow you, follow you

 

18

Finally we allowed her to explore some deep part of forest and we ran away. After a few minutes, we heard a lot of cluck and cackle from her and we ran back to her to see what happened to her. Lucky found out some insects and she was just excited. I found her peacefully sitting on the ground and she was completely at ease.

6
The last photo of Lucky, there was some ants and she cried because of them

 

We said ” Good Bye” to her and headed back home. On the way back, I was thinking Lucky was just a child or may be a teenager. Would she be scared when thunder and rain comes? Would she run away when wild boars come? Would she survive?

One thing  I am sure is she  have at least felt the freedom during her short life span. Lucky is lucky indeed.

freedom

 

Leave a Reply

